Worth a Thousand Words…

… that’s what is said about a picture. More telling than any narrative, a picture has the ability to lay bare the truth of it’s subject. Sometimes, that truth is more than we want to know or accept.

I was kind of excited for our holiday party this evening. Enough so that I went and had my make-up done. Nothing outlandish, but just something a bit fun for the evening. So, I skipped out of work a bit early and headed off to be ‘made up’.

Between chit-chatting and working, the girl ‘transforming’ me spent close to forty minutes. When she was done, I have to say I thought it looked nice. I know it sounds all stereotyped and such, but I like having my make-up done: it’s fun. :) I left there smiling and feeling pretty good as I headed over to the party.

I am not really good at the whole social thing. Being an introvert doesn’t make the ‘mingling’ thing any easier, but I headed in, said a few greetings and soon found that, as I had figured, people were grouped by their respective areas. After making me way through and getting some food, I sat at a an empty table to eat. A few people wandered over, chatted for a few and then moved on. My mood was not-so-slowly sinking.

As I stood talking with someone who had wandered over, we were asked to pose for a picture. *Click* – I asked to see the picture: I wanted to cringe. She tried another. *Click* – equally bad. I asked that she promise to delete them because I didn’t want them circulated. Another friend came over and it was another round of pics. I protested but my friend tried convincing me how poorly she looked in pictures. *Click* – a third picture taken…

I looked at it and inside I wanted to cry. I told the girl taking the pics that I wanted them deleted. She looked as if to ask if I was serious and I told her that I really do not want them shared. Whatever bit of confidence I had that made me somehow think I looked ‘good’ had been sucked from me. As I stood there looking around at everyone, all I wanted to do was to be be invisible – so I did the next best thing. I picked up my bag and quietly made my way to the coatroom, got my stuff and I left. I’m pretty sure no one even noticed.

As I walked down the street, I wanted to cry. All I could see was that damn picture and how fucking ridiculous I looked. And then, I begin to think about how I look every day, and if that is how the world sees me. Am I so deluded as to think that I actually look reasonable? Apparently I am…

I have had this crazy idea that I might just be able to transition… at least up until tonight. Right now, I’m not sure I even want to wake up tomorrow. Because if I do, I’ll be forced to look at myself again – something that’s been getting harder and harder for me to do.

And now I have an image burnt into my mind – an image past which I’m not sure I can see…

:: sighs ::

I really am about ready to be done with it all.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
gendermom

A chronicle of fun and fear, or, daily life with my young trans daughter

Lovecraft eZine

A free online magazine featuring Lovecraftian horror and the Cthulhu Mythos

janitorqueer

low-dose testosterone and janitorial discourses

A Boy and Her Dog

Traversing the Border between Butch and Transgender

Genderweird

The random musings of a gender-neutral demisexual.

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulously gender creative son.

Soulscalling's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Becoming Ella

A Regularly Updated Diary Of My Journey

LEXIE CANNES STATE OF TRANS

Rational thinking and reporting on all things transgender

Identity, Gender, and Mental Health

Clinical Psychology Doctoral Intern & Trans* Advocate

Pushing Thirtyy & Beyond...

Realizing reality, one revelation at a time

Transgender Mental Health

Discussions of Mental Health Issues for Gender Variant and Transgender Individuals, Friends and Family with posts by NYC Psychotherapist Ami B. Kaplan, LCSW.

Delving into Deviance

Ponderings on kink and female domination

Emma Phoenix

A journey through the life of a Trans* Girl.

Nuclear Unicorn

One Woman's Quest to Accidentally Destroy Us All

Many Thin Lines

Life/Death Pain/Pleasure Love/Hate

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

