Godzilla Haiku

And now for something competely different…

Back in 2014, I found out that Godzilla haiku are a thing: a friend of my daughter posted on her Faceboook wall about it.  I was inspired to write a few of my own, which of course  prompted my daughter to write a few back. Just a bit of silliness we shared. 🙂

From Facebook:

‎Nadiya to My Daughter:
Google “Godzilla haiku”. There is a surprising number of them in Google Images.

Daughter:
Whoa, when did this become a thing…?

Nadiya:
I don’t know, but it’s awesome.

Me:
So misunderstood
A relic from a dead age
He is Gojira

Off in the distance
Kaiju Goira appears
Soon Tokyo falls

A gift from Gaia
Abused and destroyed by man
He will cleanse the Earth

Daughter:
I like that you spent 1/2 an hour finding these

Me:
Silently weeping
He is the last of his kind
Alone for all time

No, I actually wrote them – I felt inspired

🙂

Sceptical she is…
Unable to believe that
maybe dad can write.

😛

Nadiya:
These are beautiful. Bravo.

Daughter:
Why would Godzilla
Who is of Japanese birth
Write these in English?

Not really alone
With all those other kaiju
Lining up to fight

Me:
With feet planted firm
Tail and breath at the ready
Awaiting attack

Tonight’s episode:
A special ‘Iron Poet’
It’s ‘Battle Haiku’

Daughter:
Perhaps Gojira
Is a nation’s lens to view
Nuclear horrors

Hey, wow, look at that!
Meta take on Godzilla
Damn, such a hipster

And such was my brief stint as a poet. 😀